top of page

The 11th graders

Yesterday was exhausting but really rewarding. I haven't even started teaching yet, but for some reason I was very tired by the end of the day. It might be a combination of jet-lag and getting used to the long days. I shadowed 11th grade economics with Susan and 6th grade computers with Jack and had prep with the 6th graders. I also went on a tour with Vel and Madhu, two 11th graders. They took me around campus to the rocks, showed me the farm from afar, etc. I learned today that the 11th graders function as sort of the leaders of the school because both the 10th graders and 12th graders are busy studying for board exams. Being school leaders entails running assemblies, talking to guests, and giving tours to new volunteers like me. By the end of the day I was exhausted. I did feel very relaxed after my cold shower with my frog buddy though. After finishing my presentation for Tuesday economics, I fell asleep very quickly and slept like a baby for the first time in a while. I think I'm finally getting into the groove of things. I taught my first economics class today and it went really well. I hope the 11th graders are enjoying it.

bottom of page